York Town Square

Part of the USAToday Network

York Mayor E.S. Hugentugler clamped down on anti-Great War speech

Mayor E. S. Hugentugler, York’s mayor during World War I, faced a difficult job at a difficult moment. York’s new mayor next year will face staggering challenges, but perhaps miniscule when compared to those faced by Hugentugler. Background posts: York’s first mayor Daniel K. Noell named one of his sons, well, ‘York’ and York mayor Brenner brought order during tumultuous times and For decades, York’s underground comfort stations spelled relief.

Mayor E. S. Hugentugler had the map of Germany written on his face.
A German-American mayor in a largely German-American area could have been particularly suspect in those days of the Great War, World War I, when such counties were not trusted because of purported sympathy for the kaiser.
The mayor tried to assure outsiders that the city was behind the war by what would be considered heavy-handed tactics today. (Indeed, they were heavy-handed measures back then.)
According to “Never to be Forgotten,” he banned anti-war meetings, organized an anti-spy group and a task force to guard York County’s industrial plants… .

He prosecuted distribution of anti-war literature.
Such measures did not keep York-area residents from opening their wallets.
Indeed, the county went over the top in its four loan campaigns.
And they banged nails into the Kaiser Wilhelm’s top.
A large wooden head of Germany’s leader was set up in Centre Square. Residents seeking to pound the kaiser paid 10 cents a piece for nails that they could then drive into the wooden noggin.
Hugentugler’s war-time tactics did not diminish his electability. He served as mayor through 1928.

A listing of York’s mayors:
Daniel K. Noell, 1887-1893.
George W.S. Loucks, 1893-1896.
Charles W. Brandt, 1896-1899.
Frank Geise, 1899-1900.
Robert Gibson, 1900-1902.
Milton Gibson, 1902-1905.
J. St. Clair McCall, 1905-1908.
Jacob E. Weaver, 1908-1911.
John R. Lafean, 1911-1916.

E.S. Hugentugler
, 1916-1928.
Jacob E. Weaver, 1928-1932.
Harry B. Anstine, 1932-1942.
Harvey Werner, 1942-1944.
John L. Snyder, 1944-1948.
Felix Bentzel, 1948-1952.
Howard Eyster, 1952-1956.
Fred A. Schiding, 1956-1962.
John L. Snyder, 1962-1969.
Jesse M. Gross, 1969-1970.
Eli Eichelberger, 1970-1974.
John D. Krout, 1974-1978.
Elizabeth M. Marshall, 1978-1982.
William J. Althaus, 1982-1994.
Charlie Robertson, 1994-2002.
John Brenner, 2002 – present