York Town Square

Part of the USAToday Network

Winner in the November election the 26th mayor of York, Pa.

Elizabeth ‘Betty’ Marshall is seen on primary day Tuesday. The 91-year-old was the first elected female mayor of York. She served one, four-year term starting in 1978. Background posts: Unfortunate incident puts leading York woman back into news and York’s 221 E. Princess St. home to telling ironies and York Mayor E.S. Hugentugler clamped down on anti-Great War speech

OK, the York mayoral lineup for the fall, at least of this date, will be a faceoff between:

Kim Bracey – Democrat (Bracey gained her party’s nod in Tuesday’s primary.)
Wendell Banks – Republican
Joe Musso – Independent
Matthew Mann – Independent
One of these candidates will become York’s 26th mayor (some have served more than one non-contiguous terms). (Post-election update: Kim Bracey won easily to become York’s 26 mayor.) :

A listing of York’s mayors:
Daniel K. Noell, 1887-1893.
George W.S. Loucks, 1893-1896.
Charles W. Brandt, 1896-1899.
Frank Geise, 1899-1900.
Robert Gibson, 1900-1902.
Milton Gibson, 1902-1905.
J. St. Clair McCall, 1905-1908.
Jacob E. Weaver, 1908-1911.
John R. Lafean, 1911-1916.

E.S. Hugentugler
, 1916-1928.
Jacob E. Weaver, 1928-1932.
Harry B. Anstine, 1932-1942.
Harvey Werner, 1942-1944.
John L. Snyder, 1944-1948.
Felix Bentzel, 1948-1952.
Howard Eyster, 1952-1956.
Fred A. Schiding, 1956-1962.
John L. Snyder, 1962-1969.
Jesse M. Gross, 1969-1970.
Eli Eichelberger, 1970-1974.
John D. Krout, 1974-1978.
Elizabeth M. Marshall, 1978-1982.
William J. Althaus, 1982-1994.
Charlie Robertson, 1994-2002.
John Brenner, 2002 – present
(Source: York Daily Record/Sunday News files)